The Languages of Love

If you are in a serious relationship I bet that you have heard about the research of Dr. Gary Chapman, author of The Five Love Languages. His book, based on years of research and marriage counseling, outlines the various ways that each of us understand and receive love. He places these feelings of love within five categories:

Quote 1.jpg
  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Quality time
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Acts of service
  5. Physical touch

Knowing your loved one's “love language” can save you a lot of heartache over the years. If you are unaware of Dr. Chapman’s work, you can learn about the details of these love languages here. This website also offers the opportunity take Dr. Chapman’s love language quiz!

However, I’m not here to lecture you on the five love languages, but I will make another bet...

If you are in a serious relationship, you are starting to fret about Valentine’s Day being just a couple weeks away!

So, how do these two bets relate to one another?

Well, I’m here to break down the Valentine’s Day gift giving guide based on your loved one’s love language. With this gift guide, you can give the ultimate gift to express your love!

1. Words of Affirmation

This person enjoys hearing why they are so special to you. So why not write it all down in the form of a personalized LoveBook!

Each LoveBook is custom made with personalized characters and your own list of all those little reasons why you love them. A LoveBook is an easy and fun way to show just how special they are to you!  



2. Quality Time 

This person appreciates when you make the effort to spend quality time with them, with no distractions! Date Night In makes this easy and simple.

A Date Night In box creates the opportunity for you to spend time together every month without the stress of planning the date!

Screen Shot 2018-01-30 at 1.59.41 PM.png

3. Receiving Gifts 

When it comes to gifts on Valentine’s Day, jewelry is a standard go to. However, that doesn’t mean you have to head to the big box jewelry stores. Check out the companies below for a piece of jewelry that demonstrates your love and thoughtfulness.

Men: Chisel Tree

“We take the finest sustainably sourced wood, engraved flawlessly by laser to give you an item that feels truly classic and retro but has a contemporary twist and an unquestionably personal and unique finish.” -Chisel Tree


Chisel Tree 1.png


Women: Local Eclectic

“We discover the most talented jewelry designers from across the globe and sell all their pretty bling.” -Local Eclectic 
Local Eclectic.png

4. Acts of Service 

If you love someone who identifies with acts of service, you should always be asking yourself, “What can I do to make their life easier and more relaxing?” Enter…

Breakfast in bed with this adorable heart-shaped waffle maker from Crate and Barrel.

Waffle Maker .png

5. Physical Touch 

For this language of love, you simply have to highlight opportunities where you can walk linking arms or holding hands. A great way to do this is through a nature hike or by taking a tour of your very own city!

If you live in the Greater Cincinnati area, I highly recommend checking out American Legacy Tours for a unique list of fun and interesting tours that you and your loved one are sure to enjoy this Valentine’s Day!


My husband and I had the pleasure of taking the “Ultimate Queen City Underground Tour” over the holidays and could not have been more impressed! We had a lot of fun and learned some interesting facts about the Queen City. We cannot wait to sign up for more of the tours they offer especially the “Newport Gangster Tour!”

I hope this guide is helpful in conquering your Valentine’s Day stress!

Don’t forget to sign your loved one up using the code “VDAY18” to get 50% off the “Loved Package” and receive an even more customized list of gift ideas.